What to Know
- Instagram doesn’t send notifications if an account has been blocked.
- An Instagram profile that is private and blocked can be different.
- To find out if someone has blocked your Instagram account, a simple search is a better option than third-party apps.
This article will show you how to tell if someone has blocked your Instagram account.
What happens when someone blocks you on Instagram?
It doesn’t happen. Instagram does not send you a notification telling you that someone blocked you. You won’t know until you investigate.
Some clues that someone has blocked you on Instagram are:
- You have not seen their stories or shares on your feed for some time, or received any direct messages from them.
- If you search for a person’s Instagram handle, but are unable to find it or access their profile,
How to tell if someone blocked you on Instagram
If you are still unsure if someone blocked your account, you can try these methods to determine if they blocked you or if it was a mistake.
- Search their account. Enter their username in the Search section of the app. If they don’t appear in the results, either they blocked you or they deleted your account.
- To reach their profile, you can use an old comment or a DM. It is possible that they have blocked you if their profile does not appear but displays a User Not Found message and a No Comments Yet message in the photo grid.
Only if they have already exchanged messages with them, this method will work. You can use this list to determine if they have not yet.
- View their Instagram account. Launch any mobile or desktop browser and enter www.instagram.com/(username). If their profile is visible on your browser but not in the app, they have blocked you. The person may have deleted their account if you can’t see their profile on Instagram.
- Follow them. Open the Instagram web site and go to their profile page. You can check if they have blocked your account by clicking the blue follow button. If they block you, the button will not work and Instagram may indicate that there is a problem.
- Search for likes and comments in groups and on other accounts. This activity is not a sign that the user has deleted their account, but rather has blocked you.
If someone blocks you on Instagram, they can’t see your profile. If you don’t wish to, you don’t have to block them back. When you are blocked, there is not much you can do.